Back to All Events

Burning Ghosts @ Equal Sound (ArtShare-LA)

  • ArtShare-LA 801 East 4th Place Los Angeles, CA 90013 USA (map)


How do you connect jazz, metal, modular synths, and contemporary classical music? Easy. Just show up at Art Share LA on June 6 at 8 PM. Equal Sound’s concert series continues with trumpeter Dan Rosenboom’s Burning Ghosts, a searing activist jazz metal outfit from the LA underground. The ghosts are joined by cellist Ashley Walters performing music by Wadada Leo Smith and Morton Feldman, with an opening set from pianist/composer/synth wizard Philip Rankin’s ØCOASTensemble. This is a show you have to hear to believe.

Burning Ghosts is a politically motivated quartet at the forefront of the jazz-metal underground featuring four of the most acclaimed musicians in the LA experimental music scene. Playing scorching instrumentals that touch on heavy metal and jazz, the music is uncompromising and intense, filled with precise rhythmic complexity and textural power.

Daniel Rosenboom - Bb Trumpet & C Cornet
Jake Vossler - Electric Guitar
Richard Lloyd Giddens, Jr. - Double Bass
Aaron McLendon - Drums

Cellist Ashley Walters has been described as performing "with the kind of brilliance that beckons a major new performer on the new music scene" (Mark Swed, L.A. Times). She has been praised for her "imposing talents" (Sequenza 21) and "impressive" (Pitchfork) and "beautiful playing" (All About Jazz). Walters maintains a uniquely diverse career, performing music that blurs the boundaries between classical, avant-garde, and jazz, breaking new ground in repertoire with microtonality, extended techniques, alternative tunings, and improvisation.

ØCOASTensemble combines modular synthesizers and keyboards with acoustic drums and bass into compositions that speaks to the heart and the spectrum of human emotions.

Philip Rankin - Modular Synthesizer, Wurlitzer, Piano, Compositions
David Tranchina - Upright Bass
Austin Pooley - Drums