“One of the most original, exciting, adventurous groups in L.A. right now.”
— Gary Fukushima, LA Weekly

The Daniel Rosenboom Septet  is an acoustic jazz group dedicated to play the compositions of Daniel Rosenboom. Blending noir jazz and contemporary classical chamber music with hard driving rock grooves, this group recalls elements of Charles Mingus, Ornette Coleman, and The Bad Plus, with overtones of Stravinsky, Messaien, and Zappa lining the sound.

The Septet has released two albums, Unsayable Absence: Live at the Blue Whale  (2013), and Fallen Angeles (2011), and has been a mainstay in the Los Angeles  jazz scene since its debut in early 2011. The Septet has included many of Los Angeles's most accomplished and innovative jazz musicians including Gavin Templeton (woodwinds), Brian Walsh (woodwinds), Jon Armstrong (woodwinds/bass), Rory Cowal (piano), Cathlene Pineda (piano), Alex Noice (guitar), Hamilton Price (bass), Sam Minaie (bass), Dominic Thiroux (bass), Matt Mayhall (drums), Caleb Dolister (drums), and such avant-garde luminaries as Vinny Golia (woodwinds) and David Rosenboom (piano).

Scott Yanow, author of thousands of articles for the All Music Guide to Jazz, says "Daniel Rosenboom’s writing and the sound of the ensemble is unlike anything heard before. This is jazz for the 21st century.”

Check out the albums and reviews below:

"Unsayable Absence" is an exploration of cross-genre pollination over the backdrop of jazz; an experiment in stretching to the edge of the universe with one foot on the ground; a testament to the soul. 

The phrase "Unsayable Absence" is taken from a Rumi poem entitled "Listening." This poem is appropriately inscribed on the ceiling of the Blue Whale directly above the stage. For me the "unsayable absence" is the space in one's heart that opens when ego is purged - a space where the energy of the universe can enter, grow, and ultimately transport one to a higher state of consciousness.


Released: January 19, 2013 

Daniel Rosenboom - Trumpet and Flugelhorn 
Gavin Templeton - Alto Saxophone and Flute 
Jon Armstrong - Tenor Saxophone and Clarinet 
Brian Walsh - Baritone Saxophone and Bass Clarinet 
Rory Cowal - Piano 
Hamilton Price - Bass 
Matt Mayhall - Drums 

This album was recorded live at The Blue Whale on May 5th and June 20th, 2012 in Los Angeles, CA. 

Sound Engineered by Masa Tsuzuki 
Mixed and Mastered by Daniel Rosenboom 

Layout by Daniel Rosenboom 
Cover Photo by Diana Ming Jeong 

All music composed and arranged by Daniel Rosenboom (ASCAP). 
All music © Daniel Rosenboom Music (ASCAP), 2013. 
All Rights Reserved.

“…it’s poetry…Rosenboom leaps from one extreme to another, doing both with the effortless flair of someone who has mastered his craft and isn’t shy to show it off.” 
 — Jazz Corner 

"There is a filmmaker lurking within the musical vision of Daniel Rosenboom." 
All About Jazz 

"Daniel Rosenboom is emerging as one of the strongest trumpeters from a particularly strong crop of West Coast-based players." 
Cadence Magazine 

"Miles Davis, whose ghost lingered throughout, would have approved."
Los Angeles Times 

“Pop fans who may know of Daniel Rosenboom because of his recent touring with Josh Groban have a lot to discover about the talented and adventurous trumpeter and composer. Although primarily a jazz performer and writer, Rosenboom has very wide tastes in music, ranging from traditional folk music from a variety of countries to contemporary classical music, hip hop and electronics. But one would expect that from a performer who has led the gypsy jazz-metal band Plotz! 

Fallen Angeles has nine of Rosenboom’s originals performed by a particularly intriguing septet. The group consists of two horns from the upper register (the leader’s trumpet and Gavin Templeton on alto and flute), two low horns (Brian Walsh on bass clarinet and baritone and Vinny Golia on alto flute and the remarkable tubax), and a highly intuitive rhythm section comprised of pianist David Rosenboom (Daniel’s father), bassist Sam Minaie and drummer Caleb Dolister. 

Throughout these unpredictable and often-cinematic performances, the individual improvisations are a natural outgrowth of Rosenboom’s arrangements-compositions and vice versa. While each of the musicians has spots along the way to solo, most memorable are the colors of the ensembles, the many moods that are explored, and the pure adventure that is a consistent part of the music. 

To name a few highlights, “Ideology” has some wild playing with Golia’s monstrous tubax in the lead and a bit of Ornette Coleman-inspired alto from Templeton. A mysterious rhythmic pattern is felt throughout “Fallen Angeles.” The next five pieces form a suite. “Meditation” uses long tones as the basis for a performance that gradually becomes somewhat furious. The uptempo and passionate “Confrontation” and a slow-burning “Fury” (which has some dramatic playing by Golia), precede the bluish “Transformation” (with Walsh’s bass clarinet in the lead). “Elation” concludes the suite with a thoughtful if sometimes driving feature for pianist Rosenboom. Templeton’s wailing alto helps “Espionage” sound like a spy drama, and finally the leader’s trumpet is showcased on his ballad “While She Slept.” 

Throughout Fallen Angeles, Daniel Rosenboom’s writing and the sound of the ensemble is unlike anything heard before. This is jazz for the 21st century, an impressive effort well worth several listens.” 

- Scott Yanow, author of ten books including Trumpet Kings, Jazz On Record 1917-76 and Jazz On Film


Released: January 12, 2011

Daniel Rosenboom - Trumpet 
Gavin Templeton - Alto Saxophone and Flute 
Brian Walsh - Bass Clarinet and Baritone Saxophone 
Vinny Golia - Tubax and Alto Flute 
David Rosenboom - Piano 
Sam Minaie - Bass 
Caleb Dolister - Drums 

Recorded on June 30th, 2010 at Westlake Studios in West Hollywood, CA 

Sound Engineered by John Baffa and Steve Rusch 
Edited by Daniel Rosenboom 

Mixed and Mastered by Daniel Rosenboom and John Baffa, TV Tray Studio 

Art and Design by Kio Griffith 

All music composed and arranged by Daniel Rosenboom (ASCAP). 
All music © Daniel Rosenboom Music (ASCAP), 2011. 
All Rights Reserved.